I wouldn’t think you would count him twice, otherwise it would be worded like all ships within range 1 receive an ion token and then the defender receives an extra token. The wording of ”the defender and all ships” and specifically ”1 ion token” leads me to believe they all just get the 1.
That’s how I would have interpreted it, but there’s a shadow of a doubt now with the FAQ clarifying ships at range 1 vs. other ships at range 1.
Part of me wants Ion Torps to cause 2 tokens to the defender so I might be tempted to take them more, but the other part of me doesn’t like the ruling and doesn’t want to fight Ion Torps when I bring out my big ships
That’s a good question but I don’t think so. If you handed out the ion tokens in two steps (first defender and then ships at R1), then the defender would get two, but because it’s all at once, and because this card seems to have been designed before the R1 of yourself ruling was determined, I think you only get 1 token.
It’s 1 ion token per ship. The timing of the word ”and” matters here — ”group X composed of the target and all ships at Range 1 of that target” gets 1 token. You can’t split the sentence into two sentences mentally. That’s where the ambiguity is coming from. ”X and Y” is a collection. It’s not first do X and then do Y.